China forex drive continues

They follow the 53 institutions that have been allowed to conduct yuan business in China in the cities of Shanghai, Shenzen, Tianjin and Dalian since 1996.

The bank also authorised yuan trading in an additional five cities -- Gangzhou, Zhuhai, Qingdao, Nanjing and Wuhan.

A spokesperson for the PBoC declined to name the newly authorised institutions, but Citigroup and HSBC have both previously announced that they are among them (FX Week, March 25).

According to a PBoC statement, at the end

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact customer services -, or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact to find out more.

Sorry, our subscription options are not loading right now

Please try again later. Get in touch with our customer services team if this issue persists.

New to FX Markets? View our subscription options

If you already have an account, please sign in here.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have a FX Markets account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an indvidual account here: